“My Colors are Blush and Bashful.”

 

“Her colors are pink and pink.” (Fucking, seriously? There are no pics of the Steel Magnolias wedding online? Fuck you, internet! I’m’a put up a hot Vespa wedding instead. Get yer shit together, man.)

   Sooooo, due to my name-dropping my wedding theme in Cake or Death II, I’m sure a lot of you are going, “Her wedding theme is what now?” or “What the hell gave her that idea?” I know, it’s a little bit… esoteric. My wedding theme is Mid-Century Chinoiserie. I really don’t want to have to explain what Chinoiserie is, so here’s the wiki. Just trust that this style of decorating is currently experiencing a revival. You know those little birds that folks are painting or screenprinting or designing onto just about everything these days? Yeah. The combination of birds, branches, and blooms are Chinoiserie themes.

   Anyway, I could say that I chose this idea because Chinoiserie style reflects my heritage in that it’s sort of pan-European, with an emphasis on the French, and the oriental traits represent Mr. Panda. But that wouldn’t be entirely true, and it would call to mind some of the icky colonialist undertones involved with historical culture cross-pollenation. We can all agree that it’s just pretty, right? But that’s not the whole of it, either. This style has been around since the 17th century, but it was particularly popular in America in the 50s and 60s. Which brings me to the actual source of my inspiration:

Old people’s swingin’ 60s houses.

   See, my mom and I go to a lot of estate sales. (Yes, I hang out with my mom, AND I cruise old dead people’s houses. Now, more then ever, you want to be my friend.) And I’ve noticed a recurring style of decorating in these old mid-century homes: There’s always a paneled room, there’s a room (or four) with metallic wallpaper, and there’s always a Chinoiserie style room. I love the mid-century style so much, and the fact that the Asian style rooms don’t really club you over the head with a reproduction Ming vase or anything. Chinoiserie, as interpreted by Mid-Century style, is the pretty and feminine side to a syle of decorating that is typically very masculine and austere.

    So, here’s a slideshow of inspiration images for the style of my wedding. I’m not going to do one of those ‘inspiration board’ thingies that bridal bloggers are so fond of these days, because they fucking make my eyes hurt. Why can’t you just look at picture one at a time? Why do you have to cobble them together like a quilt, that’s so grannyish. Anyway, feat the eyes on the pretty things:

 

Do you see it? See what I’m getting at? Does this make sense or am I really just a pretentious ‘tard? But actually, I can make sense and be a pretentios ‘tard at the same time, so whatever. Isn’t it pretty?

 

7 responses to ““My Colors are Blush and Bashful.”

  1. dorothyzbornak

    It’s sooo pretty. And words can’t describe how much I covet that bird comforter.

  2. Very pretty, BDJ. Vewwy, vewwy pretty.

  3. a.clever.otter

    Soooo pretty. You really can’t go wrong with chrysanthemums, peonies and bamboo.

    Also, my mom and I could totally hang with you and your mom. BBQ and estate sales!!

  4. It is pretty. I like the wallpaper in the first photo, and I love those pale blue chairs in the last room pic.

  5. “Pink is my signature color. ” Hah. What a great reference that is. I like what you’re going for, and I think if you can pull it off it’ll be very pretty.

  6. I think it’s going to be kind of hard to pull off, Jenna, but that won’t stop me from trying!!

  7. distractedbyshinyobjects

    Pink is no guy’s favorite color. It probably isn’t in their top ten (if they’re marrying a woman). So a wedding that is pink and pink is the most obvious way for a bride to say “this wedding is about me, myself and I.”

    And I think your theme is lovely – how do you say that word, BTW? I’m imagining shin-WA-ser-ee or chin-WA-ser-ee…but if I’m going to learn a new thing, I’m going to learn it right!

Leave a Reply

